Heatley’s Back


Sidelined after a tragic accident which ended the life of his teammate and friend, Dan Snyder, all-star rookie of the year Dany Heatley is expected to be be back in the game tomorrow versus the St. Louis Blues.

I was at MEPS the morning I heard that Snyder had died after Heatley wrapped his Ferrari around a brick pillar on Lenox Road, and it seemed that I was the only person at all interested in the story. I felt like sending an army sergeant to the deck after he was making fun of the situation–laughing about how Atlanta teams are so bad that their players are going around killing each other. The only thing that stopped me was the fact that not only would I be dealing with several marines on my ass, but the army MPs as well.

Anyway, I’m glad that Heatley gets a second chance. As much as he deserved a first degree vehicular homocide conviction, he also realised first-hand what can happen when one is careless, and it is something that he will live with for the rest of his life. I just hope that he doesn’t blow it.

I need to make a few donations to get a couple of those pins.

Hockey Love.

Posted on January 27, 2004, in Hockey, Sports and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hockey Love
    Took Mandy to the game on March 5th for her birthday, we each got one of those pins–made a $10 donation to junior hockey leagues. Hockey love.

Leave a Reply

