Lucky Day


So I started the day usual enough–slow wakeup on a day off. Met Zach and Chris at Ru Sans for lunch around 12 or 12:30, can’t quite remember exactly–not that it matters anyway. Zach had brought a few of his high school cronies that I was to make acquaintance to, but The Edge was nowhere to be found. Turns out that Loser Stoner Boy (Zach) forgot to mention the spring break outing to young Eric. Well, it turns out that he couldn’t make it anyway, so we partook of sushi grudgingly without him.

I got a phone call while eating lunch, and, for some reason or other, answered it. It was Melissa from Z93 calling to tell me that I had won tickets to see Bob Dylan at the Tabernacle next week. You see, last weekend, Diana (Nadia’s roommate) and I went to the Dogwood Festival downtown since Nadia had left for the Caribbean and Joe, her boyfriend, had to work. Just for shits and giggles, we both entered the contest. Couldn’t hurt, could it? So I won, and, it was, without saying, fucking awesome!

So, after lunch, Chris, Zach, Zach’s friend (can’t remember her name), and I head to the station to pick up my tickets. Chris asked about internships and was directed to call back next week sometime. I’ll hafta see what pans out from that; perhaps he and I both could get on over there.

Well, since we were already on the North Side, we decided to grab some beignets at Crescent City. Just after ordering, I get another call, this time from Sarah (at Borders), saying that I was supposed to be in at 3:00. It was 3:22. Turns out my day off is tomorrow. So, we get our beignets, eat quickly, and head back toward Kennesaw. While eating, I get yet ANOTHER phone call–from Diana:

“Hello!”
“Hey you, guess what!”
“What?”
“You know those Bob Dylan tickets we registered to win?”
“Yeah?”
“I just won!”
“Holy shit! I just won them, too!”
“Omigod! Really?”
“Yeah, just picked ’em up….”

Uncanny.

So we eat and get back on the road. Traffic was atrocious, but it coulda been worse–a tractor-trailer truck jackknifed just a mile or so behind us blocking all northbound traffic.

So I drop everybody off back at their cars, and head into work. Typical day there; never really any excitement.

That brings us up to the present and stream of consciousness. That’s been the story of an interesting day. Tomorrow, I’m taking Diana to get her tickets and then we’re gonna bebop around Atlanta and take some photos, maybe meet Joe and hang out around Georgia State a while. We shall see.

Posted on April 9, 2004, in Entertainment, Life The Universe and Everything, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That’s an Occurance for you! 😉
    And tell Sarah I said hi.

Leave a Reply

