Rule #2: Never Trust Clear Channel Communications


I was listening to Real Radio 105.3 yesterday, and at 10:00am, I heard what I thought was the opening to Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of The Moon. The steady heartbeat never gave way to any clattering or even a recognized vocal personality. Instead, some electronic explosion encompassed my stereo:

“Atlanta! Ya no se la egual!” (Atlanta, you know no equal!)
“Vive la differencia!” (Experience the difference!)
“Pronto….” (Soon….)
“Viva ciento cinco punto tres.” (Viva 105.3)

I thought it was a hoax, but I double-checked with ClearChannel, who issued a statement declaring their intention to open new doors to a Spanish-language format in some of their markets; the first being Atlanta with Viva 105.3 (WWVA-FM) and Viva 105.1 (WVWA-FM). Seems a little ludicrous to simulcast on two frequencies–especially when they’re so close together.

Atlanta radio now, officially, sucks. I have been a long-time fan, but I am forced to keep my presets on 96.1 FM until I can secure an alternative.

Guess I have to move back to Athens to get some decent stations.

Viva Owl Radio (WKSU-FM)

“Clear Channel Radio Expands Commitment To Spanish-Language Radio”
www.clearchannel.com
www.clearchannelsucks.org

 

Posted on September 16, 2004, in Entertainment, Music, Politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. OWL Radio On Hold
    According to University sources, OWL Radio has yet again been put on hold due to budget cuts. It will not be operational until at least January 2005.
    KSU Student Media

Leave a Reply

