Off We Go…


…Into the wild, blue yonder / Flying high into the clouds!

Indeed, I’m quite excited.  For, you see, I’ve just been accepted to

FLIGHT ACADEMY!!!!!

Yes, friends, we all thought it impossible, but Atari is finally going to be able to take off (literally), shed his earthbound dreaming, and take a look from up above!  There isn’t much I can pull together to describe exactly how elated I am because of this recent turn of events–just that, well, wow!  This is, of course, the new educational and career endeavour I hinted at a few weeks ago.  I’m currently in attendance at Silver State Helicopters’ Flight Academy, and on my way to joining the ranks of the commercial airman.  Private rating ground school is going to cover the next 12 or so weeks, and I’ll probably start simulator training by mid-December.  I will, of course, keep you all posted of happenings, dear friends, as we all embark on this crazy trip we call life.

In addition, I would like to thank a couple of people in particular because without them, I would not have the opportunity before me at all:

Ryno, thank you, sir, for hearing the radio advert and alerting me to the whole premise.  Also, thanks for actually going to the informational seminar because, knowing me, I probably wouldn’t have taken much interest without your enthusiasm.  Never gave whirlybirds much though before, but it’s a place to start!

Nadia, without your help and drive, I wouldn’t have been able to get into the school–not to mention affording tuition.  You went out on a limb and kept me in line and focused long enough to see me into school.  Thank you, sweetie, I love you.

Now, enough with being all mushy and stuff.  All I ask for at this point is a good word or thought to help me stay the course because, although I’m sky-high now, the next 10-18 months are going to be grueling–a LOT of work, but it’s going to be so worth it….

Posted on November 11, 2006, in Aviation, Life The Universe and Everything and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. haha you are right – I DO sound like you did!

    And wow, you went for it after not even taking a commercial flight before… Just…WOW. You have more strength than I’ll ever have; not sure I could have done that. Heck, I have butterflies and I’ve in planes literally at least a hundred times.

Leave a Reply

