So, Apparently, I Know My Stuff?


I was at the airport getting ready to go do some autorotations when Cody (Chief pilot) came into the CFI office.

“I need one of you [Instructors] to go to the [student recruitment] seminar in South Carolina” he announced.  The CFI’s just looked at each other, puzzled, hoping that one of the others would volunteer.  Cody pointed at Marcus (my instructor), indicating that he wanted him to fly out to Columbia.  “Pick a student to take with you,” he added.

Marcus just looked at his board, lost for what to do or who to take.  Too many hours…not good enough to fly cross-country…hasn’t passed Stage 1 yet… Cody cleared his throat and made a dramatic gesture in my direction.  “But Eargle hasn’t even done his Stage 1 yet!” Marcus protested.

“Doesn’t matter,” Cody replied, “actually, Eargle’s about the only one who I would actually trust to be competent enough to make this flight.  Take him, have him do the flight plan, fly there and back.  Once you get back, I’ll do his Stage 1 and let him go solo for a while then do his Stage 2–knock them both out in a couple of weeks–boom!”

So, apparently, I’m going to Columbia, South Carolina for a few days next week (Tuesday-Thursday).  The fun part will be getting there and back.  Obviously, I’m flying there.  Flying myself there.  Not only that, but I have to work Monday night until 0700 Tuesday, and we fly out about 0900-1000-ish.  Fly back Friday morning, and be at work at 2300.  This should be interesting….at least I get all the free coffee and caffeinated sodas I want at work!

On another note, I need to get my butt in gear and study for the FAA Fundamentals of Instruction and Ground Instructor Advanced exams.  I may have an opportunity to snag a job within the company in a couple of months!  FOI shouldn’t be too hard, but for AGI, I have to know everything about everything!  This, too, should be interesting….

More to come.

Posted on June 15, 2007, in Aviation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

