Protection In The Nuclear Age


And after exposure to a nuclear blast, he became Jigsaw Man!

I’m a sucker for old Cold War memorabilia.  I love the whole aesthetic of a post-nuclear-apocalyptic survival story.  Nuclear energy fascinates me as does the silent and invisible radiation that surrounds it.  I love reading stories about near-misses:  The Able-Archer Exercise and The Cuban Missile Crisis among them.  Dr. Strangelove is one of my favourite movies, and Ronald Reagan will probably be my favourite president because he was ready, willing, and able to fight if the War ever got hot (and spent his time poking fun at the Russians and mirthfully provoking Gorbachev before just beating the living daylights out of them economically).  The EBS frightened me because I understood what it was for, but couldn’t wrap my young mind around the fact that it was “just a test.”

That being said, I’ve had this pamphlet nearly memorised–mostly for entertainment, but also in the remote possibility that we suddenly move into DEFCON 2.  Browse its pages, satiate your curiosity, and the next time we get in an elevated conflict, you’ll be ready!

Download Protection In The Nuclear Age (.pdf)

Posted on January 13, 2012, in History, Open Culture, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

