Bad Play, Google


I kinda grimaced when Google announced their rebranding Music and Android Market into “Google Play.”  To me, it just seemed like an idea that came from marketing as some hackneyed effort to breathe some perceived new vibrancy into a product that hadn’t even scratched its showroom paint yet.  It certainly didn’t come from engineering, as the following screenshot can attest:

Well played, Google. Well played.

As you can see, Google Music has become “Play Music,” and, when put next to the built-in Android music player, might cause some embarrassingly humourous (and vaguely confusing) results.  Granted, I’m excited about the potential of Play:  if I can upload and stream my video files the same way I can with my music, I’ll enjoy being able to access my entertainment on the go without lugging around an external hard drive or even my lappy.

It’s clearly Google positioning itself to compete directly with Apple’s iCloud service, but, for the Big G’s sake, I hope that they work out the kinks between the different apps quickly or it all may be doomed to suffer the same fate as Google+.

Posted on March 15, 2012, in Media, Mobile, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

