Andy Griffith (1926-2012)


There once was this here fella who was so talented that he made his way from a-recitin’ monologues–that’s whar a feller commenced to talkin’ to th’ audience when thar was no one else on stage.  Well, he went from recitin’ monologues in fronta jest a few folks all the way up t’ becomin’ a big ol’ Hollywood star!  A biiiiiig star!  Bigger’n ol’ Edgar Bergen and Charlie McCarthy combined!

The world lost a superb actor and comedian yesterday and I lost a prominent figure from my childhood.  I remember watching The Andy Griffith Show evenings on “Channel 17” (WTBS, Atlanta) or, more often, on homemade VHS “marathon tapes” (usually recorded from a TBS “Eight Great Hours of Andy” marathon).  In high school, I managed to use his interpretation of Romeo and Juliet to ace a class project and quoting his recollection of the story of the American revolution landed me extra points in college.  I most recently rediscovered my love of his work when I watched No Time For Sergeants, and began using some of his monologues from the film in audition pieces.

To eulogize anyone has really been outside of my realm of expertise, but I feel like a celebration of his career is in order.  To wit, here is a short list of my favourite bits from Andy Griffith to enjoy.

Posted on July 4, 2012, in Entertainment, Humour, Movies, Television, YouTube and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

